Photos and Message of support from Jill and Candy, Jackie Moggridge’s daughters

From Veronica Jill (Robinson ) nee Moggridge:
”Thank you for your article on my mother. It is so true. It brought back many memories.
My mother would drop me off on her first flight to Sandown airfield and pick me up in the evening after her last flight of the day and we would return to digs in Southsea. I believe Mary Wilkins kept an eye on me.
You are quite correct. My mother took me with her whenever she could, sneaking me on to the aircraft, telling me to pretend I did not know her!
I did not realise then how amazing and unusual my mother was. I thought it was normal to fly with your mother or go to London and wait outside whilst she took her instrument rating exams.
There are so many stories to tell. I don’t think people would believe it.”

Jackie Moggridge with family during her interview with BBC

Jackie Moggridge with family during her interview with BBC. Copyright Candy Adkins.

(Try us, Jill. No pressure, but can we hope that one day, you will find time to write your own book about your mother?)

From Candy Adkins (nee Moggridge):
”Thank you for such an accurate, fun, and concise page. A glimpse of her exciting life in the air through war, peace, family life and her artistic hobbies – fighting prejudice with humour and charming determination all the way. As you have deftly shown, flying was her passion.

Here is another set of photos from our album. Please add them to your website so everyone can share our memories of her. These images are not in the 2014 republication ‘Spitfire Girl’, biography of Jackie’s life.”

(My thanks to Candy for sending in these images. They are so evocative of a bygone era, from 1930s South Africa, to Britain of the 1940s and 50s.

The dozen photos include, recorded for posterity – Jackie’s first parachute jump.

There is an excellent image of the De Havilland Rapide which she flew for Channel Airways.

The charming photo of Jackie and family with legendary Richard Dimbleby encapsulates the golden age of BBC Radio, when this was the only source of broadcast home entertainment, long before TV was in every household.

Another photo captures the moment when Jackie became the first woman airline Captain to fly passengers on scheduled flights. Taken outside Channel Airways building, it includes a wall map of the airline’s routes.

The ‘Spitfires to Burma’ photo shows Jackie with the other pilots.

You can see Jackie reunited with the Grace Spitfire and many more images. Go to the Jackie Moggridge page to view them all.)

